Sen. Bukola Saraki Emerges the Third Powerful Citizen in Nigeria.

Senator Saraki addressing members of the senate (NTA)

Senator Bukola Saraki, a former governor of Kwara State, has been elected the president of the eighth Senate.
Mr. Saraki of the All Progressives Congress, APC, defeated his party’s preferred candidate, Ahmed Lawan, to emerge the Senate president.
He was nominated by Sani Yerima and seconded by Dino Melaye.
Mr. Saraki has been sworn into office.
The immediate past deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, has been re-elected.
Mr. Ekweremadu of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, was nominated by Abie Sekibo from Rivers State.